Home » Musicians » Composers » Rozsa, Miklos

Rozsa, Miklos

Born: 1907 AD
Died: 1995 AD

1907 – He was born on the 18th day of April of this year in Budhapest, Hungary.


1912 – Miklós was exposed to classical and folk music through his mother, a classical pianist who had studied with pupils of Franz Liszt, and through his father, a well-to-do industrialist, and landowner who loved Hungarian folk music. He began to study the violin at age 5 and later the viola and piano.


1929 – Rózsa’s first two published works, String Trio op.1 and the Piano Quintet op.2, were published in Leipzig and in this year, he received his diplomas cum laude.


1932 – For a time he stayed on in Leipzig as Grabner’s assistant but at the suggestion of the French organist and composer Marcel Dupré, moved to Paris in this year. He composed classical music, including his Hungarian Serenade for small orchestra op.10 (later revised and renumbered as op. 25) and the Theme, Variations, and Finale op. 13, which was especially well received and was performed by popilar conductors such as Charles Munch and many others.


1939 – He went with Korda to Hollywood to complete The Thief of Bagdad. Rózsa remained in California the rest of his life and scored over 100 films. The recipient of 17 Academy Award nominations, Rózsa won 3 Oscars: for Spellbound, A Double Life, and his magnum opus, Ben-Hur in 1959.


1971 – Other notable scores are The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes in 1971 and his highly stylized, descriptive film score for The Golden Voyage of Sinbad in 1974.


1982 – Rózsa’s Last Film was “Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid”.


1995 – He died at age 88 on the 27th day of July of this year in Los Angeles, California, USA.